Dandy.

Icon

The New In

Over the last couple of months, I’ve noticed that bow ties are making a comeback. They aren’t everywhere yet, but they are popping up more and more.

However, I was told this weekend that ascots are really the next big thing.

I’m afraid if I wear a bow tie it will make me look like an old, fat, southern gentleman. I think if I wear an ascot, my chances are better. Ascots can come in as many patterns as the bow tie, but can also be as formal as you like or as informal as you like depending on how cleanly/tightly you tie it. Much like the neck tie.

So what do you think? Ascot, bowtie, both?

Filed under: Formal wear, Ties

3 Responses

  1. AJ says:

    I think you would look FANTASTIC in an ascot.

  2. Ahad Ghadimi says:

    I think it depends on what kind of bow tie you wear and how it is styled. There are more and more casual and ‘easy’ to wear bow ties like the ones we make that make an astounding difference to an outfit.

    Believe me, I know it can be a hurdle to get over! But I’ve got an easy solution. Go to this link and download/print a bow tie and try it on with a cool shirt and jeans and maybe a cardigan. A risk free way to try it yourself.

    I would love to see what it looks like!!!

    Ahad

  3. […] gentlemen. ALSO: Ahad left us a great comment that took me forever to approve (sorry Ahad!) over in the original post where I considered the merits of a bowtie vs. […]

Leave a Reply

